Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Hi! — Gideros Forum

Hi!

nicholasclaygnicholasclayg Member
edited August 2012 in Introduce yourself
What's up? My name is Nick and I develop games. I haven't released anything, but that's ok. I am still kind of using Corona SDK (like a lot of people, it seems, not sure if people jumping ship or just checking things out) but wanted to see if there was an advantage to using Gideros.

So far there is! Performance boost, in a corona project my levels contain over 700 vertices. I'm doing some stupid stuff (im new to coding so i'm sure there are more efficient ways) like creating a joint, attaching an object and attach again and again and again, then erase them all and then save that to a table then create the object again and attach more things to it. It's kind of like a generative world generator (why I am so damn ambitious, should have just made a fart sound maker, or something retarded like that lol). Corona I would get in the 40's FPS, in Gideros I was getting high 50's sometimes even hitting 60 for awhile. That's nuts! Also, there were some issues with groups and applying manipulation to a group or whatever. I haven't had such problems so far on Gideros.

I have a crap load of games in the pipeline (33 games that I want to make) but can only focus on one at a time. I'm married, have a 1 year old son and work a real job doing architecture for datacenters, networks etc. I code at night mostly (and sometimes on lunch break haha), so I don't move as fast. I found gideros to be about the same code length wise as Corona yet the performance is better. I don't know why that is, but really I don't care - it works.

I'm not yet fully decided on if I'm switching or not, but so far I'm about 2 weeks in and I haven't fired up corona yet so that is probably an indicator.

I'll post back sometime and see where I am at.