Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Can build settings slow things down? — Gideros Forum

Can build settings slow things down?

petecpetec Member
edited March 2012 in Bugs and issues
I've got a slight problem with an app I'm working on when I try it on an Archos 70 tablet. The app runs reasonably smoothly when I use the Gideros player on the Archos but, once I have built it and installed it, it then becomes quite stuttery, almost as if the frame rate has dropped, so physics objects move not as smoothly.

I'm new to using eclipse to build apps (having used Corona before) and I'm wondering if I have missed some settings. I'm using Android SDK 4.0.3 and the latest build of Gideros.

For info: The same build runs well on a Nexus One and not too badly on an ZTE Blade (which is much lower spec than the Archos), so it could be something to do with the Archos (although basically the same app runs OK on the Archos when built with Corona).

Thanks
Pete

Update: It seems as if it could be the Archos that I tested it on. Got someone else to try it on theirs and he says it ran very smoothly. Don't know why that should be, other than the one I tried is a very early one and his is much later so maybe they sorted out a glitch in the hardware?

Comments

• atilimatilim Maintainer
    edited March 2012
    Hi,

I've also done some tests but couldn't catch a clue (checked the .so files and configurations). In fact, player and exported application are almost same. The only difference is file operations: player loads from the sdcard, but exported application loads from inside of the .apk file. But this also shouldn't make a big difference.

Can you update this thread if you catch something?
  • It seems to be a GC problem. What is your GC tactic? Are you collecting at every frame?
    Do you create and release a lot of objects at all times?
  • petecpetec Member