Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Beginner Question - Classes/OOP in LUA — Gideros Forum

Beginner Question - Classes/OOP in LUA

gyrospgyrosp Member
edited November 2012 in General questions
Hi :).

I'm new to Lua and I have some difficulties in understanding Classes/OOP in Lua.

I'm just trying to create a simple "player"-class. This is what I have so far:

--[[
filename : Player.lua
--]]

Player = Core.class()

function Player:init()
self.health = 100
self.speed = 3
end

function Player:startRunning()
end

function Player:stopRunning()
end

I create the instance and call a method like this:

require ("Class/Player")

local player = Player.new()
player.startRunning()

Is this the right approach? How do I declare local variables like health and access them from outside the class?
I've read several articles about this issue but after that I'm more confused than before ;). There are many different oppinions out there.

Another thing. What's the point with the . and : syntax? I have seen some methods/functions like this

function object.print(self)
print("Hello from ", self)
end

What's the difference between function object.print(self) and function object:print(self)?

Comments

• plamenplamen Member
    edited November 2012 Accepted Answer
    you don't need "require ("Class/Player")" and "player.startRunning()" should be "player:startRunning()" if you want to access health its done like this: player.health=100 or player.speed=200 :-)
    question about . and : here it is: object:method() - calls object method and object.property - access to objects property.
  • techdojotechdojo Guru
    Accepted Answer
    When you use the single dot ( . ) method to call the function in the table, it does just that, it calls the function with the parameter list as specified.

When you use the double dot ( : ) method, the lua interpreter actually puts "self" as a hidden first parameter so
            object.print(self)