Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Why are modules executed by Gideros at startup not using Lua package manager? — Gideros Forum

Why are modules executed by Gideros at startup not using Lua package manager?

troysandaltroysandal Member
edited December 2013 in General questions
I've been working around this problem for some time and would like to ask the masters of Gideros why it is that packages executed by Gideros at startup don't go into the package manager? This is causing my modules to be evaluated by the Lua interpreter twice which seems inefficient and forces me to either use excludefromexecution="1" for all files or to guard against double evaluation using a sentinel value. This can be very bad if you're doing one-time initialization of say, installing listeners and timers, which are then doubled since the package manager wasn't used.

Is there some reason why this would be needed? I'm still new to Lua so perhaps there's a simple answer I'm just not seeing, apologies in advance if so.

To see this in action here's an example, say you have 2 files, test.lua and main.lua. test.lua assumes it will only be evaluated once at startup or during the first require 'test.lua'. You'll see 2 different values for test printed out.

test.lua
local test = math.random()
print("test.lua loaded, value set to "..test)
return test
main.lua
local test = require 'test'

Comments

• the whole structure of your app is not meant to consist of modules in Gideros.
    In Gideros you should use the scenes to divide logic of the app, and some other objects as game elements using as Gideros classes in Gideros OOP style, thus they can easily be executed on start.