Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
strange fps issue: 29/30 on s2 21/23 on s4 — Gideros Forum

strange fps issue: 29/30 on s2 21/23 on s4

piepie Member
edited October 2014 in General questions
Hi, I made a test build of my game and tried it on different devices borrowed from friends.
Monitoring fps while playing, gave me an unexpected result:
On galaxy s2, 29/30 fps
On galaxy s4, 21/23 fps
On galaxy w, 21/23 fps

The game plays well on every device, and I can understand the fps drop on galaxy w, since it's not really "powerful" - also I am almost certain I made a mess here and there coding, :) but I'm still learning and I was expecting it.
Since this game is turn based I can accept some lag (it just miss displaying some tweens, or freeze a bit computing certain actions, but everything else is there, working).
What I really can't understand is the reason why on the s4 it should run as laggy as on the galaxy w.. actually, it is a bit smoother (still fps display is the same) but I expected to outscore the galaxy s2 with s4.

I have garbage collection happening on 30 mb, about 20 are texture memory.

Do you have any suggestion on how to investigate this further?

Thank you! :)

P.

Comments

• I've seen this behaviour too, on Android and iOS devices. Newer devices have more pixels to calculate, and sometimes their hardware, although more powerful, can't keep up.

For example, I get faster FPS on an iPad 2 than an iPad Mini Retina. I think this is because iPad 2 has a fraction of pixels to shuffle around as compared to the iPad Mini Retina.
    My Gideros games: www.totebo.com
  • piepie Member
    Good point, I didn't think about that. :)
    Did you notice some improvement changing the ram limit to garbage collect on different devices? I've got to try, I am just wondering. :)

Any other ideas to try to get higher fps readings on hd devices?
    Thanks
    P.